Wednesday, October 29, 2014

Sleep No More by Aprillynne Pike

Sleep No More by Aprilynne Pike
Average Rating on Goodreads: 3.7 of 5 Stars
My Rating: 4 of 5 Stars
Page Count: 340

Synopsis:

The blockbuster film Inception meets Lisa McMann's Wake trilogy in this dark paranormal thriller from #1 New York Times bestselling author Aprilynne Pike. This novel is also perfect for fans of Kelley Armstrong, Alyson Noel, and Kimberly Derting.

Charlotte Westing has a gift. She is an Oracle and has the ability to tell the future. But it doesn't do her much good. Instead of using their miraculous power, modern-day Oracles are told to fight their visions—to refrain from interfering. And Charlotte knows the price of breaking the rules. She sees it every day in her wheelchair-bound mother and the absence of her father. But when a premonition of a classmate's death is too strong for her to ignore, Charlotte is forced to make an impossible decision: continue following the rules or risk everything—even her sanity—to stop the serial killer who is stalking her town.

When I first picked up this book I wasn't expecting it to turn out like it did! I was pleasantly surprised by the direction the author chose to take it in! So kudos to you Ms Pike :D

Usually when I read an oracle story it's about them helping people with their powers, which this one did, but in this one, most Oracles fought their visions. It was seen as breaking the rules if you let yourself succumb to the visions. This is one of the things that made this story different and even more intriguing.

The crazy part was the amount of deaths that took place in this book o.o And some of them were gruesome hell! I hadn't been expecting that, not at all. Charlotte, who is an Oracle but hasn't been sworn into the Sisters of Delphi, has a connection to all of these murders. All of the people who were killed were people she had had contact with at some point in her life, people who could have been her friends if she wasn't the "freak" of the school

Charlotte has always questioned the need to fight her visions. She hates having the power and she just wants to be normal, but the visions of the murders are so powerful that she has no choice but to see them and as they get more and more frequent, Charlotte make the decision to get help from an anonymous caller to stop the killer.

Smith, the man who turns out to be the anonymous caller, seems to know more about Oracles than he should and, as the reader, you're immediately suspicious of him because Charlotte is.

Aprilynne Pike does a fantastic job of making the feelings of her characters tangible. As I read, I felt everything Charlotte felt and that is always something I look for when I read a book. I love being able to feel the emotions from a character

The relationship between Linden and Charlotte kind of felt unneccesary...but then again it needed to be there because of how it ended, However, I am glad that Pike did what she did when she ended it between them. I would have hated it if they stayed together since I felt that everything between them happened so fast and it wasn't real...which I was right...it wasn't real.

The ending was fantastic and kind of unexpected! I highly recommend this book :D

Happy Reading
Tia

0 comments:

Post a Comment